Class is 9am-4pm for class and shooting portion to cover the Texas Department of Public Safety required instruction time on:
- The Handgun laws of Texas: Where you Can & Cannot bring a handgun.
- Texas Penal Code Review
- Use of Force and Deadly Force
- Non-Violent Dispute Resolution
- Firearm Safety Rules, Safe Storage, and Safe Carry of your firearm.
Our students learn how, when, and why to both Carry Concealed and Open Carry a Handgun. Our students learn when they can and cannot use their handgun for Self-Defense, and what is considered justified according to the law. We are pleased to also share that our students learn far above the state minimums for this course, and our online reviews speak volumes.
After class, students receive a follow up email and outline for the remaining steps to complete the License to Carry a Firearm paperwork process with the Texas Department of Safety.
After completion of class material, students take both a written and range test. Upon successful completion of both tests, student will be issued a course qualification certificate (called an LTC100) to be used in their License to Carry application. Students should plan on about 7 hours for both their classroom and live fire testing at the gun range-usually 9am-4pm. The Classroom instruction will be conducted at our training retail facility, with the shooting portion completed at a nearby affiliate range. (A small range fee of $15 applies)
The course is open to all US Citizens within 6 months of being 21 years of age or older. Student should have no felony criminal record. If you have questions about your criminal record, please contact the Texas Department of Safety directly.
Please bring the following to class:
- Any SAFE semi-automatic handgun or revolver. (Rentals available)
- 50 Rounds of ammo- You may bring your own, and we also have ammo available..
- Pen & Notebook
Class tuitions are non-refundable, but if you are unable to make your designated class time, we will be happy to reschedule you to our next available time.